Three Films

My progress through the 10-day You Challenge is winding down!

20140613-125311-46391806.jpg

 

Today’s topic of discussion is three films.

I will just start off by saying that I am NOT a movie person.  My fiance, on the other hand, loves movies, and could watch them over and over…and over…and over.  Which brings me to my first movie…

1. Rocky

This movie is on TV all the time lately!  And my fiance will watch it every time.  I’m still OK with the stairs scene though, and I rarely pay attention to it anyway.  🙂

I guess I should be positive and point out that this movie has a good message.  I’m just sick of it, haha.

2. Up

I just love this movie!  When I saw it in the theater, I cried like a little girl.  Twice.

It has such a great message, it’s fun, and it makes you smile.  What more could you ask for in a movie?

3. The Hunger Games

Given my former middle school language arts teacher background, I’m a sucker for young adult books-turned-movies.  It is a rarity for me to find a movie that measures up to its book inspiration.  This movie was one of the few I thought measured up (as well as the movie could).  I also think Jennifer Lawrence was the perfect Katniss.  It’s also not often that I approve of a director’s choice of actor/actress to replace the character I built in my head.  🙂

When I do watch a movie, it typically has some criteria in order for me to approve…

  • It must be something both myself and my watching partner (typically my fiance) is at least slightly interested in.
  • If it is based on a book, I must have read the book first.  Seriously essential.
  • It can’t be scary or overly violent.  Those movies just aren’t fun for me.

What are some of your favorite movies?

Do you have criteria when it comes to approving of the movie choice?  What are they?

Leave a Reply

