Can’ts into Cans: My Yoga Body

It’s been awhile since I did a Can’ts into Cans series post!  I figured now is a great time, as I am a week and a half in to yoga teacher training.  Let me tell you, 1 1/2- 2 hours of intense yoga per day is no joke!

With my practice jumping from occasional to six days a week, I have noticed some significant changes in what my body can do already.

Pre-yoga teaching...this is a better picture than after.  If you've seen my sweaty selfie, you get it.

Pre-yoga teaching…this is a better picture than after. If you’ve seen my sweaty selfie, you get it.

1. Forward fold

As ridiculous as it sounds, I thought my runner hamstrings would just never loosen up enough to truly touch my toes.  It only took a couple of days of practicing Ashtanga for me to get there.  Now, I get a little further in every day, and I know that I will get to the “full” posture if I don’t give up!

2. Marichyasana

 

Another posture I never thought I would get into.  Now, I can tell you that mine doesn’t look nearly as pretty as Kino’s, I have to struggle to get my finger tips to clasp, but it is so exciting to be there!  I’m looking forward to continuing to deepen in this one!

(Side note: If you’ve never seen Kino MacGregor’s videos, click around!  She is amazing!)

3. Headstand

This posture is one I’ve always been a little afraid to try.  One day, though, my teacher helped me get up and try to hold.  The next day, continued to be a struggle.  The day after that, I got up by myself.  At this point, my headstand doesn’t last long on it’s own, and I definitely need the wall to support me.  But, again, I’m looking forward to seeing it progress!

It’s truly amazing what the body can do with practice and dedication.  I’m only a third of the way through my teacher training, and I can’t wait to update you on my can’ts that become cans through the rest of the process!

Any yogis out there?  What pose did you think you would never get into, but you finally did?

 

Leave a Reply

