My First Group Fitness Classes

This week so far has been a big one!

I taught my first group fitness class and my first yoga class!

Pre-yoga teaching

Pre-yoga teaching

Monday night, I taught a HIIT class.  I struggled from the start with how to plan out this 45-minute class, because that is just too long for my usual HIIT workouts.  So, I structured it like this:

  • Warm-up (about 10 minutes)
  • Abs-only Tabata
  • HIIT (about 10 minutes)
  • Cool Down

This structure worked nicely.  I was wiped out, due to my fairly grueling yoga teacher training program that morning, but it was fun!

My sweaty self after an Ashtanga practice.

My sweaty self after an Ashtanga practice.

(I can’t believe I just posted my sweaty selfie on the Internet…)

The ladies there had really great attitudes, and one told me my class was exactly what she needed.  Win!

I’m talking with the owner to add some more classes to the schedule at this studio.  🙂

Last night, I taught an Ashtanga Yoga class.  Ashtanga is the focus of my yoga teacher training, and my instructor asked if I would sub for her class.

This one didn’t go quite as well as I’d hoped, but I held my own considering I had only three days of Ashtanga under my belt by that point.  The ladies in the class knew some of the poses better than I do, which was a slight blow to the ego, but oh well.  🙂

Overall, I’m pumped that I finally got my feet wet in the field, and I’m looking forward to more!

Have you ever done Ashtanga Yoga?  What did you think?

What qualities do you really love in a group fitness instructor?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

