It Really IS Independence Day- A Big Announcement!

Happy Independence Day folks!  I hope you have a fun and safe day with your friends and family.

For me today, Independence Day has a whole new meaning.

This week, I resigned from my current job as a middle school teacher.  Next week, I start teaching group fitness classes at a wellness center near my home.

I am SO excited!

Thumbs up, ya'll!

Thumbs up, ya’ll!

Let me start out by saying that teaching is a wonderful, noble profession.  The seven years I spent as a teacher held some of the greatest rewards imaginable.

On the same token, teaching is exhausting.  And it can be really thankless at times.  I got to a point where the lows just weren’t worth the highs.

About two years ago, as I really started getting in to this fitness stuff, it occurred to me that there might be something else out there for me.  That school year was draining, but I chalked it up to some difficulties outside of work.  Then, I met the now-fiance, and the distraction pushed my work issues aside.  I considered getting my personal trainer certification for the summers, but ended up holding off and putting my energy into teaching.

ArHeights

This past school year, all those struggles came back.  The school year just got harder, and harder.  And harder.  Finally, I knew it was time for a change.

So, I started applying for some other jobs in the education field in which I would be training teachers.  I was really excited and renewed by this, as my new experiences in teaching led me to realize that kids are awesome, but I truly get joy from teaching adults.

After lots of time put in to applying and interviewing, none of the jobs panned out.  It became apparent that, to make these jobs work, I would have to go back to school for another master’s–something I was not willing to do.

I tried to stick it out and deal with it, but with each passing day it became clearer.  School teaching just was not for me anymore.

I started looking at all sorts of jobs, not really being able to figure out what would be a good fit for me.  I have a degree in English and a master’s in Education, which really doesn’t give a lot of opportunity outside of the school systems, at least in what I was finding.

After a lot of time racking my brain over this, and a lot of evenings spent in tears because I thought I would be stuck forever in a job that didn’t make me happy, I decided to get back to basics.  What do I love and would love even more to make it a career?

Marathon

The answer was simple.  Fitness, and helping people.

I had some long talks with the fiance, of course, and finally decided to get my personal training certification.

My Personal Training books!

My Personal Training books!

Not long after, this blog was born.

Once the school year got out, the plan was to look for jobs like it was my job and resign from my teaching position when I found something.

Two weeks ago, I got in touch with an amazing wellness center owner.  She was/is willing to give me a chance and show me the ropes.  I start teaching a HIIT core class on Monday, and I am going to pick up a yoga sculpt class later this month.

This is just a start, but I took it as a sign and decided it was time.  I got in touch with my principal and made the big announcement.

First, it was crazy scary.  What if this was a huge mistake?!?

Then, I compared the fear I was feeling to the dread I had developed about going to work.  No comparison.  This was the right choice.

As this post gets longer and longer, I will end with a great message from one of my former coworkers:

Here’s to finding your own path and ideas!

Any advice for me on this new journey?

Happy 4th!  What are you up to today?

6 comments

  1. This is the right website for everyone who really wants to understand
    this topic. You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subject that’s been discussed
    for ages. Excelent stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

