Can’ts into Cans Wednesday: Not Yet a “Can”

This week, Can’ts into Cans Wednesday is shifting focus a little into the future.

My new year’s resolution is to be able to do a full pull up.

It’s June 4th.  I’m not even close.

In previous years, the majority of my new year’s resolutions were running-related.  It was time for something different.

Not that the marathon wasn't an awesome resolution...

Not that the marathon wasn’t an awesome resolution…

I put a LOT of pressure on myself in the marathon training process.  So, I thought a switch would be nice.  This way, I could still work toward a fitness goal.  Plus, more muscle tone in my arms certainly wouldn’t hurt how I’ll look in a wedding dress.

At the time, I was/am really in to a blog called The 12 Minute Athlete.  Here, Krista posts great HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workouts.  HIIT workouts involve short bursts of all-out effort, with a small period of rest in between.  Most of her workouts are 12 minutes long (hence the name), with 18 intervals of 30 seconds work and 10 seconds rest.

For example, today, I did Krista’s Minimal Equipment Apartment Ready HIIT Workout.  It involved 30/10 intervals of:

  • Air Squats
  • Dive Bomber Push Ups
  • Side Lunges
  • Pike Push Ups
  • Medicine Ball Twists
  • Plank Get Ups

Let me tell you, the back to back medicine ball twists and plank was tough on my abs.  But it was good stuff.

Thumbs up!

Thumbs up!

Anyway, back to new years.  HIIT workouts, particularly Krista’s, made a huge difference in my confidence after not being able to run much anymore with my injury.  This workouts definitely gave me my endorphin fix, and I started to be able to do things I didn’t think I could do before, like 30 seconds of full push-ups!

Many of the workouts on 12 Minute Athlete involve variations of the pull-up, but I always replaced them with one of the great modifications that Krista posts.  Pull-ups were just too intimidating for me.

Then I tried them on the assisted pull-up machine at the gym.  Hmmm…not as bad as I thought.

Soon enough, I was reading up on how to do one and decided to make it my plan.

Here I am in June, and I feel like I have just plateaued.  I still have to do them jumping, and even that way I can only get in a few good ones before I can’t get my chin up high enough.  I’m kind of stumped.

Any advice for how I can make this pull-up happen?

Have you done HIIT workouts?  What do you think?

Are you still working on any new year’s resolutions?

Leave a Reply

