Can’ts into Cans Wednesday: Running my First Half Marathon

After my first 5K, which you read about in last week’s Can’ts into Cans Wednesday, I was most definitely hooked on running.

Image

The amazing feeling of empowerment I felt after doing something I never thought I could, or would, do was something I hadn’t experienced in a long time.  Maybe ever.

Soon enough, I found myself moving on from a difficult time, buying a house all on my own (definitely a can’t I turned in to a can), and running a couple more 5K’s.  At my 3rd 5K, which I spent coaching my first-timer friend through, I thought to myself, and said to her, “I don’t know how on Earth those people can run a whole half marathon.”  She laughed and said I would probably be doing one myself soon enough.  I couldn’t get that thought out of my head and started reading blogs near-incessantly to get all sorts of information about running, particularly longer distances.

Within two months, I had signed up for my first half marathon.

My training gave me a great focus on myself through some busy (but fun) times, including my sister’s wedding and my first trip to New York City.

Image

I stuck to my training plan fairly religiously, even through the trip.

Image

Running in Central Park=Dream come true!

I even came in first in my age group at the same 5k I ran only a year earlier!

But, as the half grew closer, I was terrified that something would take the experience away from me: whether getting sick, injured, or just not being able to do it.

I did my best to stay positive, and I was very lucky to have the support of my mom, sister, and best friend at the race.  Sure enough…

Image

I did it!

Alright, I admit it.  That picture is from the start of the race.  You don’t want to see how I looked at the end.  🙂

Have you ever been worried you couldn’t do something despite knowing you were prepared?

Ever been to Central Park?  Did you love it?

3 comments

Leave a Reply

