Enjoying Freedom

Today being Memorial Day, I wanted to express my appreciation for the troops through a blog post highlighting all the ways I enjoyed my freedom this weekend.  Without so many brave men and women that sacrifice their lives for complete strangers, I would not have been able to enjoy this weekend– or any weekend — as much as I did.

So, here is how I enjoyed my freedom this weekend…

I spent my evenings having fun with great people.

Friday night was spent at one of our favorite night spots, a piano bar in a town near our house.  The Friday night musician there is awesome; he really brings the whole place to life.

Image

Me and my sister Ashley, out on the town.

Saturday evening, we met my sister and brother-in-law and some friends at a nearby sports bar to watch the Blackhawks game.  Let’s hope tonight goes better than that one!

Sunday night was a barbecue with family filled with lots of fun stories.

I spent a ton of time outside.

Finally, the weather in Illinois has turned around.  So far this weekend, it has been pretty much non-stop gorgeous.

As part of our errands, Danny and I bought a dart board, which we hung in our garage and enjoyed before the barbecue Sunday.

I won, might I add.

I won, might I add.

This morning, Ashley and I went for a nice, long walk.  It was a gorgeous morning for walking, so I had to snap a picture.

Walk

Finally, I spent the rest of the morning sitting out on the patio with some coffee and my personal training textbook.  We got our first wedding gift (!) yesterday, which was this cute little patio set and fits perfectly on our small deck.  Let me tell you, I sure have been taking advantage of it so far.  Thank you mystery gifter!

Gorgeous morning

Gorgeous morning

I truly relaxed.

After a pretty stressful week, I vowed to enjoy the living daylights out of this weekend.  I was finally able to relax (read: two hour nap today…wooo!), and I am so grateful for that.

Another big thanks from the bottom of my heart for all those who have served our great country.

How did you enjoy your freedom this weekend?

Leave a Reply

