Can’ts into Cans Wednesday: Running my first 5K

With my blog being entitled “Can’ts into Can’s,” I want to take some time to focus on some ways to turn doubts into success.  Enter Can’ts into Cans Wednesdays!

I would like to turn this into a weekly series in which I highlight a way someone turned a “can’t” into a “can.”  I would love to pull in all sorts of people and all sorts of victories, big and small.  I figured Wednesday would be a good day, as it is halfway through the week and might serve as a little inspiration to get us all through to the weekend.

This week’s little victory will highlight one of my greatest accomplishments, which started me on the path to a healthier, happier me: my first 5K.

Finishing my first 5K!

Finishing my first 5K!

Several years ago (I’m thinking five, but I’m not sure anymore, haha), my admiration for runners boiled over, and I decided to give it a shot.  I did some Internet research and found the Couch to 5K program, which really helped me take it one step at a time and build a foundation without becoming terribly frustrated.

After gaining some confidence in my running, I decided to give it a try to run with my best friend Amanda (you’ve heard about her when I discussed making my workout fun by sticking with a buddy).  She had been running for ages, and I really wanted to impress her.

I remember her telling me (prefaced by a “no offense, but…”) that she was impressed at my form and how well I did.  That really gave me a boost, and, soon enough, we were talking about running a 5K together.

To start, my goal was simply to finish.  However, in true Amanda fashion, she planted the seed in my head one day that she thought I could do it in less than half an hour.

When Amanda throws a goal out there, I can’t help but go for it.

So, I trained.  I was nervous.  I thought there was no way I would hit that goal.  In fact, I stayed out later than I expected the night before, didn’t eat super healthy, and didn’t expect it to go well at all.

Before I knew it, I found myself in the last mile of the race.  I was feeling pretty good, but starting to panic.  So, I socialized a little.  Amanda quickly put the kibosh on that one.  🙂  Finally, just as I started to get discouraged and thinking I wouldn’t get there, I turned the corner to the finish.

I didn’t know if I could go any faster, but I sure tried.  I heard my brother-in-law scream my name, and I tried harder.

Sure enough, I crossed the finish line at 29:39…meeting my goal by 21 seconds.  I must add that my amazing running buddy let me finish in front of her.  🙂

Amanda and I walking it off afterward so I didn't keel over...

Amanda and I walking it off afterward so I didn’t keel over…

It sure was not easy, but I did it!  This little victory started me on the path to more races and WAY more confidence.

Have you ever run a 5K?  What did you think?

One comment

Leave a Reply

