How We Keep Our Diets on Track All Week

To start, when I say “diet” in the title…I don’t mean we are on a diet.  We (meaning my fiance and I) try to eat healthy consistently, but we are willing to have what we want too.

With our wedding fast approaching, we both talked about how we are generally happy with our bodies, but would like a little much muscle and a little less belly.  Our catch phrase is a little more of this, a little less of that.  🙂

We found that lunches and snacks at work were our biggest roadblock.  So, I did a little research into making the week’s worth of food ahead of time.  I found some great stuff from a simple Pinterest search and was really sold on the idea from this meal plan and prep post on Back to Her Roots.  She seemed organized like me and was planning two, also like me.  All I had to do was plug in some recipes, and I was off!

Lunch Prep

Sunday is meal prep day in our house, and he does the shopping, while I do the prepping.  This week, I made:

  • Brown rice with zucchini, peppers, and steak
  • Salads in a jar (inspired by Lofty Appetite): balsamic vinegar/olive oil/salt/pepper, cucumber, red pepper, tomato, feta, sunflower kernels, tuna, lettuce (from the bottom up)
  • Overnight oatmeal
  • Smoothie packets: Banana, strawberries, flax, and protein powder in the bag, then I mix with yogurt, spinach, and milk in the morning
  • Maple Oat Scones, from Oh, Lady Cakes (which, by the way, are way too delicious for my their own good)

Dinner we plan ahead, but we play it by ear a little more.

We have been doing this for three weeks now, and we are loving it!  It takes virtually all of the scrambling out of our mornings, and we always have healthy food on hand!

Any other meal preppers out there want to share their ideas?  We will need some variety soon.  🙂

Leave a Reply

